Bedtime Stories, Lee Mingwei

Bedtime Stories

May – November 2017

 

Specially conceived by Lee Mingwei for the Biennale de Lyon, his work Bedtime Stories will be travelling around the Veduta areas, with stories, dreams and imaginations on board. They are an invitation to return to our childhood to get a better idea of the landscapes of our everyday life.

 

"One of my fondest childhood memories is the bedtime stories my mother read to me before I went to sleep.  Even though some of the stories were quite scary, what I remember most are that intimate time with mom and the magical realm created by the stories which led into my sleep and dreams.
The aim of this project is to enable visitors to re-experience that powerful yet delicate moment that most of us remember from childhood, although in this case the children's book will be read to us not by our mother, but by a stranger. The van library will be furnished with a platform bed large enough for two on one side, and shelves containing children's books on the other."

 

As part of Veduta 2017, the artist is also reactivating his piece The Moving Garden, which can soon be discovered in various public locations…

 

Dates

Oullins


Thursday 21 Sept., from 9.30 am to 1.30 pm
On the forecourt of the City Hall
Friday 29 Sept., from 10 am to 4 pm
At the seniors' residence La Californie
Tuesday 7 Nov., from 9.30 am to 1.30 pm
On the forecourt of the City Hall

 

Passed dates | Satuday 13 May and Sunday 14 May, in the context of the Fête de l'Iris, at the Chabrières Park / Wednesday 24 May at the Saint-Vincent Home / Friday 7 July, in the context of the Saulaie's block party, place de la Convention

 

Givors

 

Tuesday 26 Sept., from 9 am to12 pm
At the market, avenue Maréchal Leclerc
Thursday 16 Nov., from 9 am to 12 pm
At the market des Vernes, place Charles de Gaulle
Thursday 23 Nov., 15h-18h30
Opposite the multimedia library, place Camille Vallin
Friday 24 Nov., 15h-18h30
Opposite the multimedia library, place Camille Vallin

 

Passed dates | Saturday 20 May, in the context of Les Hommes Forts aux Plaines festival organised by the Givors' theatre / Wednesday 5 July, in the context of the Festiv'étés, at the Normandie Niemen Park

 

Saint-Cyr-au-Mont-d'Or

Thursday 28 Sept., from 3 to 6 pm
On the parking lot of the Salle des Vieilles Tours
Wednesday 8 Nov., from 2 to 6 pm
In front of the multimedia library

 

Passed dates  | Saturday 1 July, at the market, place de la République

 

Rillieux-la-Pape

Saturday 23 Sept., from 2 to 5 pm
Place Maréchal-Juin, in the context of the Velette/Semailles' block party
Tuesday 21 Nov., from 1.30 to 6 pm
On the forecourt of the Allagniers Social Centre, in the context of the Quinzaine sur la Parentalité

 

Passed dates | Thursday 6 July, on the forecourt of the Velette's School

 

Grand Parc Miribel Jonage

Passed dates | Saturday 8 July and Wednesday 12 July, in front of the Nathalie Gautier's reception centre, at the gates of the beach

 

Vaulx-en-Velin

Sunday 17 Sept., from 2 to 5 pm
In front of the public library Georges Perec
Wednesday 27 Sept., from 2 to 6 pm
In front of the public library Marie-Ghislaine Chassine
Wednesday 4 Oct., from 2 to 6 pm
In front of the public library Paul Eluard

 

Passed dates | Tuesday 16 May, on the forecourt of the City Hall, place de la Nation / Tuesday 23 May, on the bus stop Logirel, rue Henri Gormand / Tuesday 30 May, on the forecourt of the City Hall, place de la Nation

 

Lyon

Tuesday 19 Sept., from 9 to 11 am
Lyon 2 / In front of the Bullukian Foundation, in the context of the solo show of the artist
Tuesday 3 Oct., from 2 to 6 pm
Lyon 9 / La Duchère, place Abbé Pierre 
Thursday 9 Nov., from 3 to 6 pm
Lyon 8 / Mermoz, on the forecourt of the Mermoz Social Centre

 

Chassieu

Saturday 30 Sept., from 10 am to 5 pm
On the Agora of Espace Culturel Pierre Poivre
Friday 17 Nov., from 10 am to 7 pm
On the Agora of the Espace Culturel Pierre Poivre

 

Saint-Fons

Tuesday 14 Nov., from 9.30 am to 12 pm
At the market, place Durel at the beginning of the avenue Henri Barbusse

 

Francheville

Wednesday 15 Nov., from 2 to 6 pm
In front of the multimedia library
Saturday 18 Nov., from 1 to 5 pm
At the nautical centre Aquavert
Wednesday 22 Nov., from 10 am to 4 pm
On the forecourt of the City Hall, in front of the Bourg market 

 

Meyzieu

Saturday 25 Nov., from 9.30 am to 1 pm
In front of the multimedia library

 

About Lee Mingwei

Lee Mingwei works with local people, places and institutions throughout the world to create installations based on an exchange of private experiences. From these permanent interactions of personal stories, memory and chance, Lee Mingwei produces works that reveal the most diverse and unexpected aspects of everyday life.

The work Bedtime Stories keeps moving thanks to the partnership with JC Decaux.

JCDecaux QUADRI

 

Works by Lee Mingwei displayed at the Fondation Bullukian are part of an exhibition designed in association with the Biennale de Lyon.

 

©Blandine Soulage

Register !

Register to our newsletter and stay connected to the Biennale